The Retreat of the NRM Parliamentary continues at the National Leadership Institute, Kyankwanzi.

Monday 14th January 2013

On the third day, 13th January 2013, Members of the Caucus discussed the question of Party Discipline, after receiving a presentation from Lt. Col. Henry Masiko providing a comparative analysis of mechanisms of discipline regulation in parties from other countries.

The Members of the Caucus in their contributions, expressed outrage about continuing acts of indiscipline in the party. They were unanimous in their determination that these be stopped, and the perpetrators punished severely.

Wrapping up the discussion on Party Discipline, the Secretary General Rt. Hon. Amama Mbabazi emphasized that the NRM has always preferred inculcating conscious discipline amongst its membership, where one is able to distinguish between right and wrong and consciously do the right things without external supervision, rather than mechanical discipline where the party mechanically imposes disciplinary actions according to its code of conduct. He assured the Members of the Caucus that errant members who had made it a habit to act in breach of the NRM code of conduct were going to be dealt with firmly.

The Secretary General informed the Caucus that disciplinary proceedings have been initiated against some of its Members, who are soon going to appear before the NRM National Disciplinary Committee chaired by the NRM First National Vice Chairperson, Al-Hajji Moses Kigongo. The Members in question are:

  1. Hon. Theodore Ssekikubo
  2. Hon. Barnabas Tinkasimire
  3. Hon. Wilfred Niwagaba
  4. Hon. Vincent Kyamadiddi
  5. Hon. Mohammed Nsereko Rt. Hon.

Mbabazi also clarified that NRM Members of Parliament who ceased being Members of NRM for any reason, would automatically lose their seats in Parliament under the current multiparty dispensation, pursuant to the provisions of Article 83 (1) g of the Constitution of Uganda.

2. The Caucus had earlier approved the institution of a Committee to examine the draft Rules of Procedure of the NRM Parliamentary Caucus, and report back to the Retreat Plenary within 3 days. The Committee shall also receive representations from the Members of the Caucus on the draft. The members of the Committee are:

  • Hon. John Nasasira - Chairperson
  • Hon. Fred Ruhindi
  • Hon. Adolf Mwesige
  • Hon. Stephen Tashobya
  • Hon. Kabakumba Masiko
  • Hon. Daudi Migereko
  • Hon. Wilfred Niwagaba
  • Hon. Margaret Komuhangi
  • Hon. Jim Muhwezi The Committee has started work.

Evelyn Anite Spokesperson NRM parliamentary Caucus

Follow Us, Stay Connected


Sign up for our Email Updates

Sign up below to get the latest updates from State House Uganda by email.